Innova IRV to be part of the PERTE Chip ‘Committee of Experts’ established by the Spanish Government

The Ricardo Valle Institute of Innovation Foundation (Innova IRV) and its president, Ezequiel Navarro, CEO of the Premo Group, will be part of the ‘Committee of Experts’ established by the Spanish Government, in order to ensure coordination and effectiveness of the investments and actions that are going to be developed within the framework of the PERTE Chip project.

This advisory board is made up of 11 international and renowned people in the microelectronics and semiconductors industry. They were selected due to its professional profile so that the fields comprised in the PERTE Chip ecosystem are represented, that is, the business and academic fields.

Ezequiel Navarro will represent Innova IRV in this committee that will provide information and strategic advice to the commissioner in order to maximise the impact of the project on microchips manufacturing and design.

Regarding Innova IRV’s participation in this committee, Navarro pointed out that “the fact that the Government included several members of Ametic and the collaborative innovation project that I represent through the Ricardo Valle Foundation underscores the importance of public-private ecosystems in the development of a strategy in the semiconductors field.” 

“We are deeply grateful for this recognition and we are committed to promoting national collaborative projects, such as the DKULPIOT project,” he highlighted.

In the first meeting of this committee of experts, which was held last week, the committee analysed the progress made in the first year of the PERTE Chip project. This first year was marked by the announcements of investments in the sector by multinationals such as Cisco, Intel, Open Chip and Broadcom, which will build a substrate manufacturing plant key for microchips production. 

This period was also marked by the first aid scheme launched within the framework of the PERTE Chip project in cooperation with the Centre for the Development of Technology and Innovation (CDTI). The aid scheme, called ‘Misiones Chip’ (Chip Missions), with an investment of €60 million, is addressed to R&D projects that strengthen scientific capabilities in the microelectronics and semiconductors field and that boost public-private cooperation.

Members of the Committee of Experts 

Ezequiel Navarro, president of Innova IRV and CEO of Premo Group.

Industrial engineer specialised in electronics. CEO of Premo Group, a company that designs and manufactures electronic components for the automotive industry. President of the Ricardo Valle Institute of Innovation Foundation (Innova IRV).

Mayte Bacete, Site Director at MaxLinear Hispania.

Industrial engineer from the Universitat Politècnica de València (UPV) with more than 20 years working in the microelectronics sector and in important companies. She is the driving force behind the Valencia Silicon Cluster. 

Luis Fonseca, director of IMP-CNM (CSIC)

PhD in Physics from the Autonomous University of Barcelona. He developed his professional career at the National Microelectronics Centre (CNM) and he leads the “MicroEnergy sources and Sensor Integration” research group. 

Ignacio Herrera, Project Director, Avionics and Advanced Systems at SENER Aeroespacial.

PhD in Electronic Engineering, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid. Telecommunications engineer from the University of Navarra. He regularly participates in evaluation panels of national projects and framework programs of the EU.

María Luisa López Vallejo, Professor of Electronic Technology (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid).

Professor of Electronic Technology and PhD in Telecommunications Engineering. Her working experience focuses on researching and teaching in the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid in the research group called ‘Integrated Systems Laboratory’ (LSI). 

Juan Carlos López, Professor of Technologies and Information Systems at the University of Castilla-La Mancha.

He currently leads the Arco research group, which focuses on the design of increasingly smart and interconnected systems.

María Merced, president of TSMC Europe.

She is in charge of promoting the development, strategy and business management of TSMC in Europe. She currently is president of the EMEA Leadership Council of the Global Semiconductor Alliance (GSA). 

Antonio Núñez, former director of the University Institute of Applied Microelectronics of the Canary Islands.

Professor at the University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. PhD in Telecommunications Engineering from the School of Telecommunications Engineering of the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (ETSIT-UPM). 

Lluís Torner, director of ICFO (Institute of Photonic Sciences)

Graduate in Physical Science from the Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona and PhD and Professor at the Universidad Politécnica de Cataluña. He started and developed the Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO), which he has directed since its creation in 2002. 

Teresa Riesgo, secretary general for Innovation (Ministry of Science and Innovation).

PhD in Industrial Engineering from the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid. She is Professor of Electronic Technology at the School of Industrial Engineering of the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (ETSIT-UPM), where she has developed her teaching and research career. 

Mateo Valero, director of Barcelona Supercomputing Centre.

PhD in Telecommunications Engineering from the Universidad Politécnica de Cataluña. His working experience focuses on research and teaching in the computer architecture field, more specifically in supercomputing and high-performance computing. 

Get started

If you want to get a free consultation without any obligations, fill in the form below and we'll get in touch with you.